Intergovernmental Agreement Murray Darling Basin

As part of the strategic management plan for the Great Artesian Basin 2000, a coordinated approach to drilling rehabilitation was proposed at the basin level, leading to the development of the Great Artesian Basin Sustainability Initiative (GABSI) Gabsi program. This program has been made available in partnership by the governments of Australia, New South Wales, Queensland, South Australia and the Northern Territory to provide financial assistance for repairs to uncontrolled drilling. The Intergovernmental Agreement on the Implementation of Water Reform of Murray Darling Basin June 2013 (revised in March 2017) is an agreement between the Commonwealth and Basin State governments to ensure that water reforms, including the basin plan, are implemented cost-effectively to support the national interest in improving the health of rivers and wetlands, put water consumption on a sustainable basis, increase irrigation productivity, provide water to critical human needs and increase the confidence of farmers and communities to plan for a future with less water. The Memorandum of Understanding signed on November 4, 2019 is an agreement between the State of New South Wales and the State of Israel to improve cooperation in water resource management. It demonstrates a common commitment to exploring knowledge exchange opportunities in areas such as the efficient use of water resources, recycling/reuse of wastewater, desalination, groundwater loading and water protection techniques in the field. Implementation of the water reforms of COAG, the National Water Initiative and the Murray-Darling Basin Agreement required additional agreement between New South Wales and Queensland. The agreement, in force since 2003, provided a useful cross-border strategic obligation in the water field, which influenced the content and nature of subsequent water planning and management decisions for both states. The Intergovernmental Agreement on the National Water Initiative (2004) is an agreement between the Commonwealth, New South Wales, Victoria, Queensland, South Australia, the Australian Capital Territory and the northern territory governments. The agreement is a joint commitment to increase the efficiency of Australian water consumption, increasing investment security and productivity. Implementation of the agreement will be overseen by the Standing Committee on the Border, made up of senior officials from the water and environment departments of both states. If there are water management concerns or interests that go beyond a state, jurisdiction or country, governments can enter into intergovernmental agreements.

These agreements between governments can be multilateral (between several governments) or bilateral (between two governments). NSW has a series of formal intergovernmental agreements to fund, for example, water management programs or projects to better understand water resources and the water-dependent environment. Intergovernmental agreements may include sharing benefits or responsibilities between states or other water resource issues, such as floods, groundwater, water sharing, and water and environmental degradation. Intergovernmental agencies may be created to manage, study or recommend water initiatives to share or protect common water resources. The Quéanbeyan Water Supply Agreement is an agreement between the Australian Capital Territory, the Commonwealth and New South Wales to provide water from the Googong Dam area to the city of Queanbeyan. The Paroo-River Agreement between New South Wales and Queensland in 2003 was concluded after a joint recognition of the importance of water resources in the Paroo-River system, in order to preserve the uniqueness of the Paroo watershed.